top of page

5 Love Languages

Hi there. I'm Kelly O'Horo from Infinite Healing and Wellness, and I want to talk to you a little bit today about Gary Chapman's five love languages.

It's a really great tool to learn better how to understand your partner's love language, your children's love languages and your own love language. It's really important that we understand our love languages and know what we need, because we tend to give love in the way that we want love, and that isn't always effective in filling one of your persons in your life's love tanks.

The first love language is acts of service, and this is where we do something kind for the person that we care about - whether it's making the bed in the morning after they get out of the bed, or they wipe down the mirror when they notice it was messy or mow the lawn without being asked. These are simple acts of service.

Another love language is words of affirmation. This is when you tell your partner something nice like, "You look really pretty today", or "I really like the way that dress looks on you", or "Thank you so much for always paying attention and it was really sweet that you helped clean up the kitchen today" and giving that praise or those words of affirmation.

Another one is receiving gifts. Some people mistake this as it needing to be something extravagant or expensive, and that just isn't the case. A gift can be something as simple as, I used to know my son's love language was gifts and I would bring him his favorite TicTacs or a mango from the grocery store and he just thought it was super special. It doesn't have to be extravagant.

Another love language is quality time. This one tends to be something that can be really easily interrupted with all of our cellular devices and our screens. Quality time is uninterrupted attention paid at the person that you're spending time with. It's intentional and you're spending this time without distractions.

The last love language is physical touch and physical touch doesn't necessarily have to mean sexual intimacy. Physical touch can be things like holding hands or running your hand through someone's hair or simply putting your hand on their shoulder and just letting them know that you see them and that you are there with them. It's important to know what your partner's love languages are.

There are really cool quizzes online if you're interested in learning more about the five love languages. We also offer a workshop at Infinite Healing and Wellness, if you're ever interested in digging in deeper.

Thanks so much for listening and have a great day.

To watch the full video, click the button below.

41 views0 comments


bottom of page